Little Wets

Progressing your way through the ASA duckling awards giving your little one happiness and confidence in the water


Stage 1
This stage is concerned with developing basic safety awareness, the ‘class’ scenario, basic movement skills and water confidence skills. Swimmers may use aids, such as woggles, back packs, floats, etc.


Stage 2
This stage focuses on developing safe entries to the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel on the front and back up to a distance of five metres, and rotating the body to regain an upright position. Swimmers may use aids such as floats, etc.


Stage 3
Concerned with developing safe entries into the water - including submersion - travel up to 10 metres on the front and back, and progressing water safety knowledge and body rotation skills from the previous Stage, Stage 3 also sees the swimmer being assessed without the use of aids or support.


Stage 4
This stage aids the learner in developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills. Also covered is refining kicking techniques for all strokes. The swimmer also has to swim 10 metres to a standard directed by the ASA.


Stage 5
During this stage swimmers develop ‘watermanship’ through sculling and treading water skills and body complete rotation. They also perform all strokes for a distance of 10 metres to a standard provided by the ASA within the ASA Learn to Swim Framework.


Stage 6

Developing effective swimming skills - including coordinated breathing - across all strokes is the focus of this stage. Learners also have to swim a distance of 25 metres using a stroke of the swimmer’s choice. Children also learn about aspects of water safety and about preparing properly for exercise.


Stage 7
During this stage, children develop quality stroke techniques up to 200 metres incorporating the skills they have learned, and combine them to develop a linked routine. They also complete successfully an obstacle course that combines a variety of skills accomplished through stages 1-7.


Welcome to swim squad!
Once the swimmer has developed the core range of skills required to be confident, competent and safe in the water through stages 1-7, he or she can then take part in different aquatic disciplines through stages 8-10.


< BACK TO SCHOOL advance to squad >